Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-15-2006, 03:13 PM
LawnSite Member

Wasting time on quotes?

This is my first year getting into the business, and I have landed a few clients already. But my comment is about all the posts complaining spending too much time on quotes. Before I became a farmer, I worked as an estimator in the commercial construction industry. I spent anywhere from 4 hours to 2 weeks on a quote, and my success rate was around one out of every 30 or so. So don't get discouraged. It is the same in every industry, and if you put in the work, you will eventually reap the benefits.
Old 03-15-2006, 03:54 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

Selling and quotes are just part of the job and should be considered as overhead. Just time that has to be payed for.
I believe that most that complain about the building stage are also the ones that sell work at $20.00 per lawn and don't realize all the extras it takes to run a business. Pay little attention to them as they will be the ones that go away before the year is out
Old 03-15-2006, 04:53 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by PMLAWN
Selling and quotes are just part of the job and should be considered as overhead. Just time that has to be payed for.
I believe that most that complain about the building stage are also the ones that sell work at $20.00 per lawn and don't realize all the extras it takes to run a business. Pay little attention to them as they will be the ones that go away before the year is out