Register free!

Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2006, 03:56 PM
mrusk mrusk is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: northern jersey
Posts: 3,247
New lawn installation.. How much good topsoil?

Well i am slowly working my way up from the bottom! I did a couple lawn installations last year for contractors that just wanted a quick, cheap job. Well now i have some customers that want a top notch lawn so i figure i'd ask you guys for advice.

This lot seems to have crumpy soil. I figure once i get all the neccesary grading done, i will harley rack all the rocks out of it. It will take two passes to get it good. Then i figured i'd spread 2'' of topsoil over the area. Last i figured i'd hit it up again with the harley rake down enough to mix the top soil in with the native soil.

Is 2'' of top soil enough or do i need more?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2006, 04:54 PM
sheshovel's Avatar
sheshovel sheshovel is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: zone 7 CA
Posts: 5,120
You should add compost or amendment as well..what do you mean by "crumpy?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2006, 05:14 PM
Ollie3 Ollie3 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 79
I'll have to agree with Sheshovel.

Ollie.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2006, 05:41 PM
olderthandirt olderthandirt is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: here
Posts: 4,903
No topsoil. Work up the existing soil deep. and plant with a god mixture of seed. By adding topsoil your training the roots to stay shallow where the "good" soil is. and thats makes for a bad lawn.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2006, 06:08 PM
freddyc freddyc is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Western Ma
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by olderthandirt
No topsoil. Work up the existing soil deep. and plant with a god mixture of seed. By adding topsoil your training the roots to stay shallow where the "good" soil is. and thats makes for a bad lawn.


He indicated that he would be mixing up the top soil with the existing soil.

The stuff already there might be as good as the new stuff.

Ammendments would be a good idea as needed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2006, 06:14 PM
olderthandirt olderthandirt is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: here
Posts: 4,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by freddyc
He indicated that he would be mixing up the top soil with the existing soil.

The stuff already there might be as good as the new stuff.

Ammendments would be a good idea as needed.
Waste of time and money, grass will grow in pretty much any soil with a neutral PH

And he's gonna be mixing the top with a Harley rake so he's still only gonna be mixing the top couple inches
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2006, 06:33 PM
hole in one lco's Avatar
hole in one lco hole in one lco is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: rocky river ohio
Posts: 1,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by olderthandirt
Waste of time and money, grass will grow in pretty much any soil with a neutral PH

And he's gonna be mixing the top with a Harley rake so he's still only gonna be mixing the top couple inches
bingo bring in soil only if you need to bring it up to grade ............... test the soil and see what it needs or doesn't.
__________________
I WORK HARD SO YOU DONT HAVE TO
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2006, 07:47 PM
mrusk mrusk is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: northern jersey
Posts: 3,247
Ok. So how do i test the soil to see what amenedments it will need? Adding amendments is way better than adding an extra 3k in topsoil and $1200 in labor onto the estimate!

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-16-2006, 08:36 PM
olderthandirt olderthandirt is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: here
Posts: 4,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrusk
Ok. So how do i test the soil to see what amenedments it will need? Adding amendments is way better than adding an extra 3k in topsoil and $1200 in labor onto the estimate!

Matt
PH Meter measures the acidity in soil to see how much lime to add if needed
Cost $15
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-16-2006, 09:14 PM
sheshovel's Avatar
sheshovel sheshovel is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: zone 7 CA
Posts: 5,120
To get top notch results..requires top notch work and top notch soil..you sure can't hurt by adding organic matter to any soil.Most likely the soil that you have to start with is NOT top soil because that wast scraped off when the builder put in the pad for the home.SO I highly recommend improving soil structure and organic matter content by adding well aged weedless compost for new seeding.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:42 PM.

Page generated in 0.08964 seconds with 7 queries