Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2006, 11:12 PM
rockandroller rockandroller is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 123
Shouldn't lighting wires be buried?

Hello there

I don't work with lighting installs, I mostly do lawncare, maintenance, and light landscaping. Anyway, I was doing a mulch job last week in beds with lighting and I noticed that one of wires for the lights had been severed. I don't know if I did it with the hard rake while spreading, but I thought that it must have been broken already. Anyway, I get an email from the customer telling me I did it when mulching. He's a good guy and wasn't on my case and I offered to go by and try to patch it myself if I can. My question is this: Shouldn't that wire have been underground, and for that matter underground in some conduit? The lighting was installed by a large landscaping Co. and not the homeowner. Just want to know if I am truly at fault for the damage for simply raking mulch in a bed.
Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2006, 12:45 AM
Pro-Scapes's Avatar
Pro-Scapes Pro-Scapes is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Mississippi
Posts: 4,224
it doesnt need to be in conduit if its in a bed but it should of been buried at least 6 in deep. If you guys raked back alot of mulch you could of hit it. I couldnt see cutting the wire with a rake unless you were chopping at the ground with it.

Whatever you do dont just tape it up and bury it. Fix it properly with gel filled nuts and maybe some resin packets. See your local electrical supply house they should be able to help you out.

I would note if the wire looks like a fresh cut or if its corroded or something.

Should of been at least 6in deep tho, We go for more than that and will try our best to keep wires near foundation to prevent situations like these.

hope this is accurate and helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:30 AM
NightScenes's Avatar
NightScenes NightScenes is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kingsland, Texas
Posts: 2,192
I really don't think you cut the wire with a rake. That would have to be a VERY sharp rake to do that. I would check to see if the lighting system is still under warranty before making any repairs. With my system, I inform the client that if ANYONE works on the system besides me or one of my employees, the warranty is void. The line should have been buried. I have had clients request that the line not be buried so they know where they are for planting purposes. I usually will accommodate the client in this regard. If you make the repair, please make sure to maintain polarity as the installer may have that run on a "loop" configuration and if you cross polarity you will short out the circuit. Make a good connection and seal it.
Good luck.
__________________

Paul R Gosselin, Sr., CLVLT(#0632)
NightScenes Corporation
President, AOLP
www.night-scenes.com
www.facebook.com/NightScenes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2006, 11:10 AM
steveparrott steveparrott is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 954
Another reason why the loop method is problematic, a cut wire could easily be reconnected improperly, shorting the circuit.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2006, 05:56 PM
NightScenes's Avatar
NightScenes NightScenes is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kingsland, Texas
Posts: 2,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveparrott
Another reason why the loop method is problematic, a cut wire could easily be reconnected improperly, shorting the circuit.
Just another reason why only the installer should be working on that system.
__________________

Paul R Gosselin, Sr., CLVLT(#0632)
NightScenes Corporation
President, AOLP
www.night-scenes.com
www.facebook.com/NightScenes
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2006, 05:59 PM
SprinklerGuy SprinklerGuy is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona/Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 1,777
Easy to connect w/out crossing....one side is stamped w/ writing...other isn't....by stamped I don't mean color stamped.....someone help me out with how to put that....

You will easily be able to see the difference if you look at both sides of the wire insulation.
__________________
Tony Neumann
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2006, 10:20 PM
BSME BSME is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Midwest
Posts: 829
the writing is imprinted on one.... right?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2006, 01:20 AM
rockandroller rockandroller is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 123
I went by there today and no wiring was imprinted. I could tell no difference between the the leads coming from the light, or those from the main wire. I connected them anyway and warned the customer that I wasn't an electrician and that it may be better to waitbefore turning them on, disconnect, and call the installers andaskthem to come out. I assumed that it would be covered under some warranty as the wire wasn't buried under anything but 2- inches of mulch. I pulled it up and it was lying on the plant bed. Anyway he said he couldn't remember the CO. ?? that installed them, and that he did in fact turn them on, and now the light next to it doesn't work either.

Should I be responsibe for this? All I did was spread some mulch with a yard rake. The client is a good one, reasonable, and I am willing to do my part, as I offered to go over once more and check the next connection. I don't think this is my fault. What do you'll think? I know as installers you would rather not have inexperienced people trying to remedy problems, but I did give the customer some warning, and all he had to do was undo the simple connection I made.... Anyway any help here would be nice.

PS thanks for those who have responded
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-21-2006, 08:37 AM
BSME BSME is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Midwest
Posts: 829
when you go back take a second look.... sometimes the writing takes a break for a few inches... could be further back
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:31 AM
Pro-Scapes's Avatar
Pro-Scapes Pro-Scapes is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Mississippi
Posts: 4,224
also look inside the transformer and make sure you didnt blow a breaker. Use a volt meter to check your polarity if you cant find any markings on the wires. I really dont think you should be responsible for this since the wire depth did not conform to code.

He couldnt rememeber the company? Are these high quality lights ? I am having stickers printed to put on all my transformers with our company name logo and number. This way if the house is sold and the new owners need anything there wont be a question of who services the system.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 AM.

Page generated in 0.36112 seconds with 7 queries