Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 03-28-2006, 08:56 PM
LawnSite Member

Breaking into Grounds/Field/Golf

I have been doing lawn and landscape for 6 years and have owned my own business for the past 3. I do this in addition to teaching...makes for a very busy spring and fall! I am looking to stop teaching as my true passion is lawn maintenance. I would like to break into Grounds Maintenance, mainly golf or athletic fields. What is my best route to take?

I currently have a Master's degree+, but am looking at pursuing a certificate in turfgrass. Is this my best first step? I know that I have a lot to learn, but I feel that I am ready for the next step, but am just not sure how to go about it. I am truly envious of those such as Marc and others who work in this field. Any advice would be much welcomed.
Thanks,
Steve Wagner
Old 03-29-2006, 06:44 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Education would be a good place to start. We have a new employee who completed a 2 year degree at Ohio State and it has proven very worthwhile for him.
Old 03-29-2006, 06:56 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

As a business, dont get your hopes up on getting a golf course, they do that stuff in house. and chances are if you go work for a golf course, you'll be just anorther laborer, but you gotta start somewhere

in regards to fields....I would try to contact the local little leauge and public/private schools who have soccer/football fields and try to get the landscape maintenance contract wich includes the fields.

I woudl reccomend being an employee with a company who has a few fields, or work a for golf course and cut your teeth....Jumping right in to maintaining a field on your own can be a daunting task....

school education is not everything, hands on education, IE "learning by doing" can be more important....

Keep us informed at your progress
Old 04-21-2006, 08:55 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcSmith