Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 04-08-2006, 10:40 AM
LawnSite Member

Unhappy Bid Gone really wrong?!?!

Just thought I would share this story. I went out the other day to give someone a bid. He is a salesman for a pretty good size builder here. He new exactly what he wanted. He also had a small problem. I couldn't run a dedicated 20 amp breaker because his panel was full. But, he wanted me to have a sub-panel installed and re-wire some of the outside plugs there for his x-mas lights. Being I am not an electrician I told him I would find someone to do it. I found someone who does my plugs and he said he would charge $1100 for that. Which through some phone calls is a pretty D@mn good deal. That night when I went back to do the demo he invited me in. I told him the price and he said wooow that's really high. I had already given him the price on my end which was $2160. So I told him that, really that was a pretty good deal on the electricity end of it. I offered the only solution I could think of. I told him that he could get the panel done now and I could come back in the future and do the lights, or I said I could bump the only breaker on the front lights to a 20 amp instead of a 15, and if he used icicles instead of C-7 X-mas lights it probably wouldn't pull near as many amps and he wouldn't trip the breaker. His wife all of the sudden got really nasty. She said we didn't call you to tell us how to do the x-mas lights just to fix the problem. Now keep in mind that she hadn't heard most of the previous conversation. I didn't get mad even though she was pretty nasty. I said like I was telling your husband I can do that for $1100. That fixes everybody's problem.