Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-08-2006, 08:12 PM
LawnSite Member

Tips for hiring Hispanics as laborers

I would like to hire laborers and feel I might need to look at hiring Hispanics. Does anyone have any tips for hiring this type of employee? I have no experience in this area of business and need help as where to find them, communication, pay rate, and what about their citizenship status? Any help with this would be appreciated.

"It's better to be hated for who you are than loved for who you're not"
Old 04-08-2006, 09:21 PM
LawnSite Member

[QUOTE=pondfishr]I would like to hire laborers and feel I might need to look at hiring Hispanics. Does anyone have any tips for hiring this type of employee?

This "type" of employee? Not sure what that means.

Anyway, make sure they are legal citizens for your own benefit, and you will (usually) get a very hard working employee for your company. Also, get some beginner books/cd's on Spanish. Won't hurt.
Old 04-08-2006, 09:56 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

You pick them up in areas where they live early in the morning. You really need to speak some spanish if you are looking to get a guy long term. You need to file I-9 and W4 whick means they need a SS number and a ID. There is no requirement for you to do anything more than fill in paper work and send it in, and keep copy on file. If they are not legal the gov will inform you(normally it takes 9 months)and you simply lay the guy off.
Old 04-08-2006, 10:27 PM
LawnSite Member

are you just talking day laborers? If so, cruise the local 7-11's in the morning, that is where i could get 50 if i need that many. SOme spanish is a MUST. I have 3 guys that i use during peak times but i call them and tell them where to meet (like next to mc donalds near 7-11). I pay them 10/hr cash and buy lunch. They work very hard and well.
Old 04-08-2006, 11:10 PM
LawnSite Member