Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 05-08-2001, 08:55 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

thinking about merging with another lawn care service

Guys,

I am needing your advise and experience. I have been playing with the idea of going full time with the lawn care job. I have been growing the business to where I will gross more in a 1 month and a half then I did all last year. (last year was about 30,000 gross). I also need to get your thoughts and guideance about a decision about merging with another sole owned lawn care service. I am mainly into spraying and landscaping. He is into mowing and landscaping. We are about 40 miles apart and there are four gorwing small towns between us. In our area the growth of housing would make your head spin.

The other guy has been fulltime for one year and is doing great.

I have been doing this parttime for about 6 years and it is growing so fast that I have two full time guys at the present and might need one more.
I know that some of you guys have done this in the past and we both would really like to hear from all that read this post.
P.S.
The guy is also a member of lawnsite. We both would like your sincere opinions.

MARK DOUGLAS
Old 05-09-2001, 10:59 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Merger=partner

Why not work out some sort of agreement. Maybe like an alliance. You then can work together on things, pass each other work, but still be separte. That way you make what you earn and he makes what he earns. This way you don't split even if one person isn't pulling his own weight.
Old 05-11-2001, 07:30 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

I would suggest "joint ventures" more so than a partnership. If you team up on projects and split the money then yours is yours and his is his. 1099 one another at the end of the year to keep your taxes and income in order. It could be a partnership or merger without all the legal hassles. If one decided to part then no harm no foul............and no tax problems.