Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 05-18-2001, 04:57 PM
LawnSite Member

Another Rookie!

Hi guys,

I have been reading through these threads all day today. I am a Marketing professional in Minneapolis that is throwing it all away to a lawn jockey.

I am very happy to see I have started off in the right direction. I have been working on a business plan that has grown from a mission statement to a 21 page list of everything you would ever want to know. I have been doing competitive analysis of the Brainerd MN area where I plan to start up shop in a month or so and that has been the most fun yet.

I am looking for information on equipment. I am ina sticky situation where we have a lot of equity that will be available from the sale of our home, but I don't want to squander $10k on some equipment if it doesn't work either. I feel confident we are offering a broad enough range of services to make us profitable and competitive, but I want to minimize the risk.

So a couple of questions:
1. What brands do we all like here and what would be a good starter machine?
2. Lease or buy
3. Would it be a bad idea to start off with a $1000 lawn tractor from the Home Depot until we were up and running or could that negatively impact my image as professional? I thought it would be a low cost entry and would allow for a back-up machine if my newer had to go in for service.

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated!
Old 05-18-2001, 10:35 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

1).Brand wise,form most popular to least,in my area. Ransomes/Bobcat,Exmark,Scag,Grasshopper,Toro,Dixie chopper. Id buy any of them if the dealer was good,and price right.

2)cant help you,I leased though