Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2006, 10:57 PM
Dirty Water's Avatar
Dirty Water Dirty Water is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,802
Pulling larger pipe with a 410

BSME-

I didn't want to clutter up the other thread with this, so I started a new one.

The 410 has plenty of power to pull 2" but I would do it in short sections (60'-100' at a time), otherwise you risk tearing the puller off the pipe, or pulling a glue joint apart.

Also, pull any curved sections seperate, the friction from a curve on large PVC is really strong. I've lost pulls that I pulled 100', and then turned 45 degrees for 5'.

When you pull 2", you'll have to spend a bit of time working the plow line down, it will hump up pretty good because its displacing a lot of dirt.

Glue each pull up at least an hour before you pull it, as you want the glue to be fully set up before you put the stress of pulling on it. Also pull in the direction with the bells facing away from the 410 so there is no ridges to catch on anything.

We use IPS 725 Aqua Blue on pipe smaller than 1.5", this cures enough in about 2-3 minutes to pull, but we use the slower setting dark blue glue for larger pipe, so I'd wait an hour.


You'll want to dig a 2-3' long trench to start your pull in, this lets the PVC get to proper depth, otherwise it will be shallow for a ways.

Use a Chinese finger puller for 2.5", the 2" one barely fits on it, and fits 1.25" and 1.5" much better. False advertising in my opinion.

If you have any other questions let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2006, 11:15 PM
BSME BSME is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Midwest
Posts: 829
thanks...

the section I'd be able to pull is probably only 150'... and it is a open yard straight shot so I should be able to do it.

I'll let you know if I have any other questions. any ideas about the dangers of drip and the pump... besides the obvious clog issues
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2006, 11:47 PM
Dirty Water's Avatar
Dirty Water Dirty Water is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSME
I'll let you know if I have any other questions. any ideas about the dangers of drip and the pump... besides the obvious clog issues
Use a pump start relay with a pressure switch as a emergency backup instead of just a pressure switch. You won't risk cycling the pump.

Alternatively (and really the only way if he wants lawn hydrants on the pump as well) you could use a pressure switch and a cycle stop valve.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2006, 12:18 PM
bicmudpuppy's Avatar
bicmudpuppy bicmudpuppy is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aztec, NM
Posts: 2,792
The 410 has plenty of power for pulling larger pipe for short distances, depending on soil conditions, but either have a special bullet made on the blade, or invest in a towed bullet like some of the smaller machines use. You can get a 3" or 4" towed bullet to follow the standard 2" bullet and pulling 2 or 2 1/2" pipe becomes much easier.
__________________
Over educated
Over Qualified
Glorified Ditch Digger
....but still a bargain compared to anything else.
And I NEVER say I told you so out loud.
How many Hats can you wear?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2006, 09:37 PM
BSME BSME is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Midwest
Posts: 829
this guy I'm doing the job for keeps bringing up concerns of me "dead heading" the pump by not pushing enough water since I'll be using some drip and what not...

Pumps really are one of my weaker areas... he has a 2hp pump... is this a valid concern of his?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2006, 09:54 PM
Dirty Water's Avatar
Dirty Water Dirty Water is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSME
this guy I'm doing the job for keeps bringing up concerns of me "dead heading" the pump by not pushing enough water since I'll be using some drip and what not...

Pumps really are one of my weaker areas... he has a 2hp pump... is this a valid concern of his?
You won't deadhead it because you will (hopefully) have a pressure switch installed, even if you did use a PS Relay

You will however cycle the pump, which will destroy it. Either combine the drip zone with a rotor zone, or have multiple drip zones run at a once to try to match the GPM output better.

Or use a cycle stop valve. I've never installed one, because we manage to size things according to pump size.

Or use a Pump Start Relay with a Pressure switch as a backup...Though that rules out installing any yard hydrants.

2 hp is in the ballpark of 25-30gpm isnt it?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2006, 09:58 PM
BSME BSME is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Midwest
Posts: 829
yea it should be about that... It's the pump he used for his old system so I'm designing it for what he was running before (which was about 21gpm).

I'm also using his old irritrol pump start relay... everything else is new though
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-20-2006, 10:01 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,796
You could also use a drip-capable controller, and run the drip concurrently with the rotor zones.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-20-2006, 10:05 PM
BSME BSME is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Midwest
Posts: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots
You could also use a drip-capable controller, and run the drip concurrently with the rotor zones.

ooooooo..... nice boots... good call
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2006, 10:14 AM
PurpHaze's Avatar
PurpHaze PurpHaze is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 6,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots
You could also use a drip-capable controller, and run the drip concurrently with the rotor zones.
Wouldn't any controller that has multiple programs that can be run at the same time do the trick? Sprinklers on one program and drip on another simultaneous program?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 PM.

Page generated in 0.10285 seconds with 8 queries