Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 05-16-2006, 01:16 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

need to seal my black-top driveway what do i need

just need to seal my driveway. residential 3 stall driveway nothing too big.

i'm looking for a good inexpensive product to seal it.

would you reccoment rolling it on???? i have never done this before.
Old 05-16-2006, 10:42 AM
LawnSite Member

If you look into it and see the cost of buying roller's and maybe a new pair of shoes and the cost of sealer and your time to do it go to and price it out and you will see that maybe you should call someone in your area.

I have been sealing now for 6 years and all my clients say with that price why do it your self "have it done right"

Graco line painter Billy Goat blower hot crack machine
www.gauthier-driveways.com
Old 05-16-2006, 01:29 PM
LawnSite Member

I recomend buying Latexite Optimum Titanium Fortified sealer, around $20 a pail. Get the best sealer you can find cuz the cheap stuff is just water down. I recommend squeegeeing it on, rollers are a pain. If the pavement is real hot and its drying too fast and leaving marks, VERY LIGHTLY mist the pavement with water to cool it down and help the sealer glide.

If its never been sealed, you will need two coats. Either both this year, same day, same week, a few months apart, whatever, or a 2nd coat next year. One coat will not last as long as two. Don't get in the habbit of doing it too often, after you do the two coats, you should be fine for at least 3-4 years. Reseal when the pavement is starting to show thru after the sealer has started to wear away.

Step 1) Edge the driveway to expose the edges of the asphalt.