Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2006, 09:34 PM
justgeorge's Avatar
justgeorge justgeorge is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: S/W Ohio
Posts: 346
Anyone seen a Fimco Hydro-indexing valve?

Ran into one of these at a fairly new house (4 years old) the other day: http://www.fimcomfg.com/

1 line (the 'mainline') into the valve, 8, count em, 8, lines coming out the bottom of the valve then I guess running all over the yard for the 8 zones. The valve was maybe 10" in diameter so there had to be quite a mess of pipe down in the ground leaving the valve. From the controller you could only tell it to turn on and off, there was no selecting which zone to turn on; it only turns on the next zone in line. Limit of 8 zones per device (and per controller), so since the yard had 11 zones there were 2 controllers and 2 of these devices. To run zone 4 if zone 5 had just ran, you had to cycle all the way thru all the zones to get back to zone 4.

Sure hope I never have to repair a leak in all that mess.....

George
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2006, 09:42 PM
PurpHaze's Avatar
PurpHaze PurpHaze is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 6,306
They actually intrigue me although I've never run into one in the field.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2006, 10:03 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,062
Just wait until it's winterizing time....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2006, 10:42 PM
londonrain's Avatar
londonrain londonrain is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Riding a golfcart with RainMaster Remote in hand
Posts: 2,123
That is similar to a k-rain indexing setup. I replaced one this year that was a 4 zone. The one I replaced used a master valve (hr-1) to stop the flow while indexing for the next zone. The body had cracked and the homeowner hated it so I replace with Hunter valves and controller.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2006, 11:31 PM
SprinklerGuy SprinklerGuy is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona/Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 1,777
Ran into them sometimes in AZ ... WaterRotor they were called....have a buddy (suck tube guy) that makes a repair kit for them, gears and all....

they actually work great and lasted a long time....took up very little room....sort of like the indexing valve on a pool...
__________________
Tony Neumann
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2006, 10:33 AM
PurpHaze's Avatar
PurpHaze PurpHaze is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 6,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by justgeorge
Sure hope I never have to repair a leak in all that mess.....
I can imagine that the piping would be a jumble right in the area of the valve. Guess one would be best to install it in the center of an area so the pipe would be going in different directions from the valve but I know this wouldn't be feasible.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2006, 11:50 AM
justgeorge's Avatar
justgeorge justgeorge is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: S/W Ohio
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by londonrain
That is similar to a k-rain indexing setup. I replaced one this year that was a 4 zone. The one I replaced used a master valve (hr-1) to stop the flow while indexing for the next zone. The body had cracked and the homeowner hated it so I replace with Hunter valves and controller.
The homeowner is actually open to replacing it, which might be possible but a lot of digging, and then the problem would be running 18/9 wire to the garage (the "valve" is not near the garage and the basement is finished which would make it tough to run the wire thru the basement to get to the garage).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:10 PM
londonrain's Avatar
londonrain londonrain is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Riding a golfcart with RainMaster Remote in hand
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by justgeorge
The homeowner is actually open to replacing it, which might be possible but a lot of digging, and then the problem would be running 18/9 wire to the garage (the "valve" is not near the garage and the basement is finished which would make it tough to run the wire thru the basement to get to the garage).
If you do end up replacing it do yourself a favor and run at least 18/10 or greater. It only costs a little more for the extra wires but if a wire ever goes dead, which I have seen on many occasions, the extra wires sure do come in handy. Two of the biggest culprits is lightning in my area or someone cutting the wire and not using a DBY kit. Explain this to the homeowner and I guarantee they will OK the extra cost. I always run extra wires on my all of my systems.
__________________
Good repair jobs aren't cheap. Cheap repair jobs aren't good.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:40 PM
PurpHaze's Avatar
PurpHaze PurpHaze is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 6,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by justgeorge
The homeowner is actually open to replacing it, which might be possible but a lot of digging, and then the problem would be running 18/9 wire to the garage (the "valve" is not near the garage and the basement is finished which would make it tough to run the wire thru the basement to get to the garage).
Not knowing exactly what you're facing there's always the possibility of running conduit from the valves(s) location(s) to the garage or other location of controller.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2006, 06:17 PM
justgeorge's Avatar
justgeorge justgeorge is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: S/W Ohio
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by PurpHaze
Not knowing exactly what you're facing there's always the possibility of running conduit from the valves(s) location(s) to the garage or other location of controller.
It's a finished basement so I can't go thru there. I could rent a small plow used for burying invisable fence wiring and hope all the irrigation pipes are at least 6" down..... (yeah I know I could bury the new wiring 2" down then it would get nailed by aerator some day).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 AM.

Page generated in 0.09903 seconds with 7 queries