Register free!

Old 05-30-2006, 12:48 PM
LawnSite Member

Struggling Transition

I currently have a small LCO. I only have 2 full time employees and have several part time employees. I am primarily a maintenance contractor but am venturing inot quite a few landscape projects for my existing clientele. However, I am at a crossroads as to how to transition my position as Business manager and not only a technician. I believe that my priority is to run the business and deal with clients. How have you made the transition from Lawn Maintenance only to Landscape? When did you realize that you were called to more than just a techinician and called to grow and manage your service operation? I am struggling to make the transition and would like to here some of your stories.

Anyhow talk is cheap, takes money to buy land!!!

97 Ford F150
96 Ford F150
86 Dodge Ram Van
48" Walker
42" Walker
36" John Deere
21" Toro
Stihl Handheld
Lesco Spreader
Old 05-31-2006, 07:48 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

The first thing to understand is what exactly you are having trouble with. Almost without exception the problem is being able to manage your help. For some reason most landscapers in your position will deny this to themselves forever. Realize how many people you can manage and then shape your business around that. That is the key. Too many guys model their companies after all the ones that they see around them and usually wind up with enough equipment to do everything and still only have three guys working. That increases their overhead and decreases efficiency.

Think about that.

But, you probably don't think that is your case. No one else does either.
Old 06-01-2006, 10:36 PM
LawnSite Member

AGLA, Thanks for that rude awakening! That is exactly the key! I have been considering utilyzing sub contractors to complement our services. Do you believe that is a possible solution?

97 Ford F150
96 Ford F150
86 Dodge Ram Van
48" Walker
42" Walker
36" John Deere
21" Toro
Stihl Handheld