Register free!

Old 06-01-2006, 11:18 PM
LawnSite Member

charging for landscape design

Hi, I am fairly new to the landscaping business, so I won't say I know everything about landscape design, but I had a guy call me today and he told me he needed the front of his house landscaped, and that he had just removed the existing plants and shrubs. I told him I could come out the next day and give him an estimate and draw up a landscape design plan. When I told him I charge $150.00 for a design, he said "I'm not paying for a design; just tell me what it costs". I told him I couldn't just look at the site and tell him the cost without figuring out how many trees/shrubs/etc. would be needed depending on space and site conditions. I also told him any landscape professional would charge upfront for a design, and he told me I'll find someone else. I told him go ahead because I don't work for free. Do you think I was wrong in the the way I worded it or am I charging to much? I want to get jobs and don't want to scare potential clients away. What do you other landscapers do? Thanks
Old 06-01-2006, 11:43 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

What a lot of companies are doing around here is charging about $250 for the design. Then, if the cusomer wants the work done, the $250 is credited toward the total job.

You were probably smart to pass on this one. He wanted an 'estimate' but in order to come up with that you need to do a design. No sense in working for free.
Old 06-02-2006, 12:08 AM
LawnSite Platinum Member

Once you been doing it for awhile you can look at a property and give a ball park figure in a few minutes. If there's still interested I carry some plans they can choose from with prices, substitutions can be made simply. Anything more and they buy a custom design that they can shop to every LCO they want. If they hire me the cost of the design is deducted.

Most important thing is getting them to sign while your there.
So you need something to show them.
Old 06-02-2006, 12:48 AM