Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 05-30-2001, 01:18 AM
LawnSite Member

pricing for broadleaf control in turf?

I'm new to the application side of the business. My main market is 40 miles away. I live in a rural area. There are many applicators in my main market, but I believe I'm the only licensed applicator where I live.

This is a great position to be in. I've focused all of my energy at the bigger market, but now I'm getting calls for spraying here at home. Being the only game in town as far as applications go, I think I can make some decent money.

I have my pricing down as far as mowing, etc.. goes. But for applications I'm not sure where I am. For example I've been charging $18-20 per 1000 sq/ft for applying Millenium Ultra. People haven't batted an eye at these prices.

Just want to see what you are getting in other parts of the country. A bit excited, apps are better than sex! Getting my license was the best move I've made. Think I need to start directing my business towards the app side. Seems like everybody has a mower, but not as many can legally apply chemicals.
Old 05-30-2001, 01:34 AM
Millenium Member

$180.00 for a 10k lawn? You have got to be kidding!
Old 05-30-2001, 01:47 AM
LawnSite Member

Kirby,

Actually did a 2k lawn tonight for $43.12 (tax in there). Did a 3k lawn the other day for $55. Don't know how my prices would fly on anything bigger than these postage stamp lawns. But damn, if they are biting at these prices I'm not complaining.
Old 05-30-2001, 07:31 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Jason those prices will only work on postage stamp lawns and is basically a stop charge plus a little application work. Try selling that to a 10 K lawn and you'll quickly find yourself overpriced in the market place.

If you notice, printers often charge a high rate for 250 pieces and then the cost per piece drops as you order many more of them. The reason being, once its all set up on the press it dont cost much to keep cranking them out.