Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-04-2006, 02:42 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

A finer fescue?

I have a customer requesting a finer bladed fescue vs broad. I'm in northern VA for climate concerns so needs to be tolerate of heat of course. He's got irrigation too. Thought I'd get some recommendations while I'm searching.

Thanks!
Old 09-04-2006, 07:04 PM
LawnSite Member

I live in the Northwest but

I am a Landscape Contractor. Time him that fine fescue will have thatch problems which can make for bug problems down the road. If at all possible preannual rye grass is better. Not annual rye grass. 100% preannual. I have some that looks green all summer long with no water.

I am not from your side of the country. But If you can go with preannual rye. I would. Lots easier to maintain.
Old 09-04-2006, 09:22 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Up here we mix Fine fescues in for shade. Types like creeping fescue are prob what he is refering to. They are finer than bluegrass.
Old 09-04-2006, 09:35 PM
LawnSite Member

fine fescue

I understand that fine fescue works good in shade. But rye will too with some extra tlc. The fine fescue will also move into the full sun areas. I would rather have a little sparse grass in the shade. Than have fescue in the lawn at all.
Old 09-05-2006, 08:00 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

That's interesting. Around here we have no prob w/ The creeping type of fescue in sun. Yes it does move in the sun areas but 90% of the grass seed mixes contain bluegr., Turf Rye, & Creeping fescues. Sun or shade. I have been selling, installing, or maintaining lawns / seed since the late 70's and every distributer uses it. Goes to show what works for 1 area may not be best for yours. I would definately look for a good supplier of seed and maybe even talk to a couple reputable garden centers and see what is working for your area.
Old 09-05-2006, 08:31 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by par69