Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 10-02-2006, 11:16 PM
LawnSite Member

Trying to Break into the game

Hello All, My name is Nick and I am currently trying to get into the game, even though it is late in the year. I'm currently a full time college student with classes 2 days a week. My goal is to get approximately 20-25 lawns and make some supplemental income. I am also in the Marine Corps Reserve now, just got back from an iraq tour a few months back. I do not have a commercial mower yet, looking at an exmark metro 36 though. I already have a Stihl BR-600 blower, bought it knowing it is leaf time. Sorry this is so long but if any of you have any helpful advice feel free to drop me a line.
Old 10-04-2006, 12:49 AM
LawnSite Member

Starting out

I tried sending u a private message but after all that typing it wouldnt go through. I think you'd learn a lot by going to the EXPO in Kentucky this weekend. See my post under 'network with people from your area' my numbers there if you wanta give me a call about Expo or just to talk about the business. I have too many things to tell you than I feel like typing. Rob
Old 10-04-2006, 02:17 AM
LawnSite Member

one piece of advice: stay out of the business. all we need is one more inexperienced, undercutting, part-timing poser dilluting an already fragile and stimatized business. unless you have legitimate field training AND CONSIDERABLE BUSINESS SKILLS, you have no right "practicing" on honest, paying customers.

finish school and get a real job.
Old 10-04-2006, 08:11 AM
LawnSite Member

Ouch!

Quote:
Originally Posted by devilphrog