Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 10-26-2006, 12:15 PM
LawnSite Member

Late october overseeding in Iowa

I have client who wants their yard rolled, aerated, then overseeded. I am new to the business and dont know what kind of seed to use, and can I do all this on one visit. Should I scalp the lawn then seed/ wheat straw/fertilize I am realy green on this subject but they were realy impressed with my fall cleanup and it could be a high end customer so I want to go in and do this job with confidence can anyone help me.
Old 10-26-2006, 02:21 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I would just get them signed for doing these services next year in the spring. It is too cold to overseed here in IL so Im pretty sure that Iowa is colder right now. You could be doing yourself harm in the long run if this is a first time customer and you do not produce results because the weather is too cold. Time it right next year and you can get better results. Yes, you can seed and fert. in one visit
Old 10-26-2006, 04:30 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by IowaLawnEnforcement
I have client who wants their yard rolled, aerated, then overseeded. I am new to the business and dont know what kind of seed to use, and can I do all this on one visit. Should I scalp the lawn then seed/ wheat straw/fertilize I am realy green on this subject but they were realy impressed with my fall cleanup and it could be a high end customer so I want to go in and do this job with confidence can anyone help me.
You can aerate, overseed, and apply starter fert all in the same day..only problem is you should have done this about 6 or 7 weeks ago IMO for where you live...as mentioned, wait until the Spring.
Old 10-26-2006, 05:29 PM
LawnSite Senior Member