Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 11-04-2006, 04:20 AM
LawnSite Member

Getting it off my chest!

How do I tell my story without boring you guys. I have been watching this site for a couple years now. Alot of good advice on here. My problem is I am a fulltime firefighter that is getting laidoff next month. Along with 20 others. I have dreams of having a legit successful business. I have been planning and researching for years now. I worked part time for 2 summers learning the biz till he started to rip me off. Went to school for horticulture a semester and had to quit because work wouldn't let me have time off anymore like they said they would let me. With that said I just don't know if I am ready to jump in. The thing that scares the crap out of me is there is alot of competition and I don't know If I have enough knowledge to do it yet. Parts of me want to go to school and learn more but that is gonna cost $$. Parts of me want to jump in. Guess I just don't want to fail. Sorry for venting but I am sure someone here will read this and can relate. Thanks and Take Care.
Old 11-04-2006, 08:47 AM
LawnSite Member

I started my business after being laid off. It is hairy. So I can empathize. Best advice I can give is go ahead and start your business, and get a part time posistion somewhere, and dont be too proud to work someplace. Start small, and build. Once you start getting accounts you will be glad you did it.
As for school, I would read books on turf grass management so you know something and can answer customers questions. Id try to fit it in later. I do have a degree in turfgrass and soil science, and i can say it more then helps with highend stuff. You have the winter to make plans. GOOD LUCK!

Chris
P.S. any questions on good books for Turf grass management just ask!
Old 11-04-2006, 09:23 AM
LawnSite Gold Member