Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 11-20-2006, 03:00 AM
LawnSite Member

rebidding commercial bid..

I picked up 11 new commercial accounts this Aug after the LOC that was doing it got fired.. it is full maintence account (landscape/spring and fall flowers/bark once a year/ and trimming of bushes as needed, which is every other week.. no lie!!! and grass cutting once a week and blowing off the lot ) I put my bid in on this really not knowing how to bid something with this much to do.. so i thought i could hire one guy to do all of this, stupid me figured out real fast that it is really a 4 man job!! 2guys to cut and and 2 guys to handle the landscape maintenece.. my bid was $1850.00 per month which once I discovered how much work there was to it I hated to go back and say I need more money... so I have made it work for 3 months now.. I am just needing to know whats a good way in approaching the head guy in telling him i need more money.. I am not very good at going about things in a suddle way.. i am usually to the point and blunt.. and some people take it as offensive and i don't wanna be that.. its a good account I just need more money... it takes about 13 hrs a week(52hs/month) to cut the 11 properties and then another 15 ever other week for the trimming of the bushes..
(30hrs/month) what would you re-bid this for??.. just needing some ideas!!.. thanks..
Old 11-20-2006, 03:08 AM
LawnSite Member

well a total of 83 hours per month at $60 per hour is over $4800!!! When is this contract up?

To be fair to the customer let them know you under bid and would like another chance to bid. Let them know you will void the current contract if they will allow you to do this. If you have them under contract they may try to hold you to it, and by law you would need to uphold your end. If they allow you to re-bid, then take the 83 hours by your hourly rate and you have it. Just remember they will be open to recieve other bids as well.