Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 01-15-2007, 09:44 PM
LawnSite Member

Maybe Interesting Story

Tell you the story. Here's my 5 min. of fame. Well actually it's a little long so might take more than one sitting. If it interest you say so and I'll continue.
Was a nurse for 10 yr, yes, men can be nurses too, burned out though and wanted a change. Had been working the entire summer on a pond and a patio at my home. They turned out beutifull, far better than anything I imagined. Thought to myself, this is alright, bet I could do this for a living. Got some cards and started hitting the pavement and after 3 months landed my 1st job. It was building a decorative fence around a pool and putting tile on a sidewalk. Didn't know how to do either one but said I did and some how figured it out. Now the story gets interesting. I Made $2600 on the job and thought to myself, you know if I just had som advertising I would really take off, so I got a bill board right on the loop around town. Now that thing sat there for 4 months with not a single response untill one day this fellow calls me and says he saw the bill board and had a proposition for me. Seems he was out of the big city and had won the contract for a local Home Depot landscape and irrigation but he didn't actually do these things he just won the contracts and then subbed them out and seeing as I had a bill board I must be the biggest guy in town and could I help him out? Well, I recond I could. Now the job was a $75000 contract and he wanted to know did I do irrigation and could I do dthe hydromulch, erosion controll and so forth. Well of course, I assured him and we made a contract together. Now, being as how I didn't have any idea what he was talking about and I now had a contract I immidiatly started trying to figure out what all this stuff was. I called a local fellow who made mulch and asked him what hydromulch was and he thought his pine bark mulch probably wasn't