Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 03-17-2000, 07:35 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

I don't want to be a pessimist but what are your ideas on the things about this business that really upset you? I know that this is what the forum is for but just leave one or two ideas and we will go from there.
Old 03-17-2000, 07:46 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Bad payers<br>Slack workers
Old 03-17-2000, 08:24 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Bites...Last season I was stung by a bee, and bit by a dog. I will get out of this biz if I am bit by a human. I stress over the fall clean-up, the leaves fall, leaving a short window of opportunity before the snow falls.
Old 03-17-2000, 08:39 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

To me, the bad part is, no real time to plan any vacation, since Im a solo operator who also does snow. Real hard to get a week during the growing season let alone two. Last season I rented a cottage for the family for two weeks, I spent a few days in a row, then commuted the rest of the time. Winter I plow snow. Spent a week in Florida one winter, spent almost $700 to get a one-way ticket home so I could plow an unexpected late-season storm.<p>But hey, at least Im getting rich <p>Bill
Old 03-17-2000, 08:45 AM
LawnSite Member

i must agree with the lawnguy....i too plow and it makes going an vacation really tough...this year i hope to get the spring clean ups done early so i can get a week in florida between the clean ups and the first cut.but i do love being my own boss.<p>scott
Old 03-17-2000, 09:33 AM