Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 02-05-2007, 02:35 PM
LawnSite Member

Pre-Em types and staining - liquid apps

I've been using Dimension for several years now (actually Lesco Lifeguard last year) and really like that it doesn't stain. I would never use Pendi on my residentials for fear of staining the walks and drives. However, I have been reading about the good residual of Prodiamine (Barricade and Stonewall) and am leaning towards it for my first round (I do liquid for R1-2). I've never used it but hear it is also yellow. Can anybody tell me how badly it stains? Thanks for any input.
Old 02-05-2007, 06:59 PM
LawnSite Member

Staining

Stonewall will not stain as bad as pend., I too like dimension, used stonewall last year - same control of crabgrass "good" , but your broadleaf weed control is not as long. That's just my opinion in the Dallas area.
Old 02-05-2007, 09:56 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

If you are spraying Barricade, the only thing it stains is your tank and sight gauges. Once you stop running Barricade in your tank, the stain will dissipate.

Never had any issues with concrete or sidewalks. What you are spraying is diluted enough to avoid any serious staining.
Old 02-06-2007, 07:50 AM
LawnSite Member

Thanks for the responses; Dawg, will you continue to use Stonewall or switch back to Dimension? Do you do split apps? I am on the border of transition + coastal = crabgrass capital of the world and want to minimize breakthrough.

Turf, it looks like you use Barricade instead of Stonewall. Any particular reason? I originally asked the staining question because encroachment usually starts on the edges and don't want any irate calls about yellow sidewalks. Thanks again.
Old 02-06-2007, 08:55 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Stonewall is Lesco's generic version of Barricade. I have used only the generics in the past such as Regalkade by Regal Chemical. They are all the same IMO.