Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2007, 08:02 PM
atc atc is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 6
Yahoo Site Builder?

Has anyone used Yahoo site builder for their website? If so what price option did you go with?? Is your address [I]your website.[I]yahoo.com? I do not want to have the yahoo. com at the end of my website address. I want a basic, professional looking website. Any thoughts????? I don't have a lot of knowledge about website building or hosting.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2007, 09:22 PM
JohnsonLawn's Avatar
JohnsonLawn JohnsonLawn is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wareham, Massachusetts
Posts: 400
Check out this thread:

http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=174398
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2007, 02:00 PM
webhost webhost is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: millville nj
Posts: 0
If you use yahoo you will be forced to stay with them forever. Or at least if you want to keep that site. Not wanting to use the yahoo.com in your domain. Is a wise choice. You would be promoting yahoo more then your own site. It also would not look to professional.

It still amazes me how many companies do business using a aol yahoo or hotmail email.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2007, 02:41 PM
Shades of Green LService's Avatar
Shades of Green LService Shades of Green LService is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,000
$11 a month www.shadesofgreenlawnservice.net
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2007, 06:30 PM
Tadams's Avatar
Tadams Tadams is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cartersville, GA
Posts: 790
Your website will not have a yahoo extension at the end of it. When you sign up for your domain name, they search to see if anyone already has that name. If no one has it, it is yours. If someone does have it they will tell you that and let you know if the .org .net or others are available and you can take those. Or you can do a search for another variation on the name. They also give you email addresses that will be yourname@yourwebsite.com. No one will ever know that yahoo is your server.
__________________
TODD

You don't stop playing because you get old, you get old because you stop playing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2007, 06:54 PM
webhost webhost is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: millville nj
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tadams View Post
Your website will not have a yahoo extension at the end of it. When you sign up for your domain name, they search to see if anyone already has that name. If no one has it, it is yours. If someone does have it they will tell you that and let you know if the .org .net or others are available and you can take those. Or you can do a search for another variation on the name. They also give you email addresses that will be yourname@yourwebsite.com. No one will ever know that yahoo is your server.
True but you will still get much better tech support from a smaller company.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2007, 05:39 PM
atc atc is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 6
Shades of Green- great website. Thanks for sharing
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2007, 06:14 PM
Shades of Green LService's Avatar
Shades of Green LService Shades of Green LService is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,000
Thanks........
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-17-2007, 05:35 PM
koster_irrigation koster_irrigation is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 1,347
I used it to build my site.

check it out!
__________________
NC Irrigation License 157

Since 1994
www.kosterirrigation.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-17-2007, 05:39 PM
Bill S's Avatar
Bill S Bill S is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Salem, NH
Posts: 184
Let me clarify, I am happy with yahoo site builder and yahoo web hosting. A friend of mine asked me to redesign his website, I asked if he used yahoo...he said yes. Come to find out he has earthlink.

Now, the question remains is: will I be able to upload sitebuilder to earthlink?

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 PM.

Page generated in 0.09926 seconds with 7 queries