Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 02-13-2007, 08:11 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Studio 8 / Dreamweaver 8 help please

Hello fellas, let me start by saying that I have NO experience making websites, using Studio 8 or Dreamweaver 8 for design. Lucky enough a friend is loaning them to me for a while to learn and build my own site. Anyway, I am looking for a good step by step book to help me through the process. I have bought the "Studio 8 book for Dummies" which touches on all the programs in Studio but it seems to assume you have some experience with making sites and programming. I consider myself computer literate and will not stop until I get a site up and running. I also don't want to bother my friend each time I have a question and actually want to do this on my own. Twisted Hugh!

Can anyone out there using Dreamweaver or Studio 8 recommend a book for an idiot.
Old 02-15-2007, 01:28 PM
Sponsor

have you taken the built-in tutorial? It's pretty nice and covers all the basics. The best place to start.

Jeff
Old 02-15-2007, 03:16 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioJeff View Post
have you taken the built-in tutorial? It's pretty nice and covers all the basics. The best place to start.

Jeff
What I have done is downloaded a free webtemplate to practice editing on and used the tutoral as I went. Eventually, when proficient, I plan on buying a complete flash webtemplate and editing it to fit my company, its only $63.00. Do you think this is a mistake?
Old 02-15-2007, 03:26 PM
Sponsor

There's no exact answer because these templates are designed by so many different people, so it's hard to give one comment that's true for all. But in general, I'm not a fan of the Flash templates unless you're a skilled Flash programmer for making changes. Or you don't mind hiring one.