Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 02-14-2007, 02:36 AM
LawnSite Member

Web Site: Is this a good deal??

Okay - I'm like most of you guys! I'm a landscaper! Not a web designer/developer, so this is not my forte. Please let me know the pros/cons of this offer. There is a site that offers: pre-design website, hosting, pre-made logo, brochures and flyers template, basically all the web/marketing is done.

All this for $29/month.

HERE IS THE CATCH: This site is "shared" by other landscapers as well. While some may say this is a negative, the company says this is actually a good thing b/c it's nationally branding the site and service. We are essentially "franchising" and 'group marketing'. Because there is a group of us using the service, it's cheaper for all of us (ie. $29/month). So, the main site is www.somethingstupidlikethis.com. And "my site" would be like www.somethingstupidlikethis.com/exodallas. I can use my own domain name (it will just redirect to "my page"). So I can put all my business info and create galleries and such and have up to like 25 pages. There's other technical crap that goes on for a while...

My thoughts: Well, hosting and domain name alone is about $15/month. For another $14/month, i don't have to worry about dealing w/ any of the "web" stuff. (I've been seeing $500 for a "decent" web guy, THEN I got to pay hosting and deal w/ the technical stuff on top of that. So what if other landscapers have the same design? It's not like I compete with anyone outside of Dallas. This way I get a pro site, with marketing and it all matches.

CONS: I didn't get to do my way! Which may or may not be a good thing. $29/month is almost twice as much as I would pay for hosting, if I just design it myself.

There must be more cons! LET ME KNOW.

Last edited by exodallas; 02-14-2007 at 02:41 AM.
Old 02-14-2007, 01:11 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

IMO a generic site for $29/mo is not a bargain.