Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 02-24-2007, 04:55 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Take a Look at my Business Plan...

I am looking for some advice on my business plan that I am preparing for this upcoming season (it will be my first full year in business running a solo operation).

First off, I will tell you a little bit of my background.

I have over seven years experience in the lawn care and landscaping industry. I take pride in my work, and love working outside. Even with a passion for the lawn care industry, it is not my overall goal.

I am a Finance major with two minors (Entrpreneurship and Business Law) at Missouri State University. I plan on pursuing an MBA at Missouri State and then going to Law school at the University of Missouri or UMKC to pursue a degree in Entrepreneurial Law. I want to eventually open my own investment firm or something along those lines...

Therefore, I only plan on mowing and doing light landscaping until I am done with my MBA (approximately 3 years away). Then it is off to law school!

So here is my plan:

Equipment:
-Small Utility Truck with a fold down gate to put my equipment in.
-36" or 32" Walk Behind Mower (trying to currently purchase)
-Shindaiwa T231 Trimmer (already have)
-Backpack blower (about to purchase)
-Hand tools and such (already have)

Plan:
-Get 30 valued customers for weekly lawn maintenance and light landscaping.
-Small, residential lawns only
-Advertise through: A-frame sign outside my house, add in the newspaper, flyers, word of mouth, company shirts, and company logo on the truck.
-Service all equipment myself to keep costs low.

I plan on being a solo operation (too many bad experiences with lazy, worhtless employees!!!). I do not want my business to grow past 30 customers because I have to study a lot as well and keep my GPA above a 3.5 for Law school.