Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 02-26-2007, 12:27 PM
LawnSite Member

Does this sound like a good equipment list?

Ok, Starting up my business soon, It's kinda crazy trying to get everything together since I am starting up from scratch. I've got a truck and trailer lined up but I have my eye on some power equipment...Keep in mind this is my first year so I'm not going crazy..My goal is to have about 10 residental accounts and maybe 2-4 commercal accounts. The biggest amount of mowing I'm going to be doing is probably about 1-2 acres at the most.

The biggest purchase would be a 48-52" walk behind. I'm going with the walk behind because they seem like they do just as good as job as a rider and are much cheaper, am I correct? It seems like everyone on this board is very fond of exmark and lesco products...is there any others I should look for? Also will this mower be a good size for small lawns (<1/4 acre) and for bigger lawns (>1 acre) Should I buy one with a mulcher kit as well so I don't have to deal with clippings?

The second purchase would be of a 21" push mower. I think it would be pointless to spend mad amounts of money on one of these seeing as how it would be used sparingly just to mow the grass that the above mower can't reach. Would a 21" mower from lowes work? Obv. a name brand one for about $300.

I'm also going to purchase 2 string trimmers. These always seem like they have problems so Incase one breaks I'll have a back up. Any recomendations?

A back pack blower will be added to my equipment list for obvious reasons...as well as rakes,shovels and other hand tools.

Any other power equipment that I need? Help is appreciated!
Old 02-26-2007, 12:45 PM
LawnSite Silver Member