Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-27-2007, 01:10 PM
LawnSite Member

New to business, need advice

Hey gang. I am new to the business and could use some advice.

I started my business as a plowing co. Insurance was a bear to get, so I opened a LLC being a Lawn maintenance co. that also does plowing.

Now that the season is before us, I am getting ready to get equipment.
First, I will say that this is and always will be a small business. Though, I have the means to get commercial equipment and the tools needed to do the job, I do not want to ramp up with too much equipment, just in case the plan goes south.

In the beginning, I will start with only residential work.

Things I have:
3/4 ton truck, Rakes, shovels, wheel barrow, back pack blower (Kawasaki 42cc backpack blower bought from Lowes a couple years ago for my own personal lawn, not sure if it is strong enough though).

Things I need:
New trimmer
Walk behind or zero turn mower
Trailer

I am totally new to this. Other than taking care of my own lawn, I have no clue. I have asked friends in the business questions and have gotten some ideas but nothing spectular. This is also not my only source of income. This is a business venture for extra cash for the family and if it works out, maybe could be the only source.

Any advice is welcomed. TIA.
Old 02-27-2007, 01:21 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Hey questions How many guys are going to be working with you?
What market are you going after?
What size lots?
Do you just want to do mowing?
We use ECHO products for everything. Your KAW I dont know if it will hold up might get you started for a season thou.
If all you are going to do is mowing then just get a 48" or 52" WB and load it in the back of the truck.
If your going to have help (one guy) then you are still ok.
My .02 worth
JOSH
Old 02-27-2007, 01:32 PM
LawnSite Member