Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-20-2007, 12:07 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Ahhh I hate these decisions...

I 'm 18 years old. I have been landscaping on my own for two years. I have always had a second job so that I could have some guaranteed income (winter and such). Well I recently got a job that is practically putting me to work full time (between 34-40 hours a week) as well as going to school (high school). It has taken up my last three weeks of my life. I am selling new and used cars for a well known chain in Northeast Ohio (Fords). The pay is decient and reliable... I wish I could say that about my business but I have been learning lessons as I go... they just hurt financially in the process. I am advertising soon (I know its late but the new job took ALL my free time). I guess what I am asking is should I keep the few lawns I have and cut them on my one day off during the week or should I advertise, get clients, and make myself PART TIME like I was hired for? The set back to demanding less hours is I am almost positive I would get fired and then I would have to rely on landscaping... which is stinking for me right now and not paying the bills.

Oh, I snow plowed for a large landscaping company this past winter and they offered me a job this summer so I guess if I get fired I can go to them for a job (supervising a crew of mexicans).
Old 04-20-2007, 08:41 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

....Anybody?
Old 04-20-2007, 09:08 AM
LawnSite Member

Well bub,

when I was your age, every job that I went for was a stepping stone towards what I wanted to do as my career...or tried my hardest too. Sure, I worked a few pizza places, but I always tried to work somewhere that would give me experience later on.