Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 04-24-2007, 09:36 PM
LawnSite Member

Plant pricing

I am new to the landscaping side of the business and was told by different people to double the cost of the plants to bid the job.

Ex. $9.95 for 5 gallon shrubs would be $19.99

I am from Texas and wanted to know how bid planting plants. Is there a base price for each size (3, 5, or 15 gallon) and what % do you mark up the items.
Old 04-24-2007, 09:44 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Seems like you are paying retail for your plant prices, aroung here its 2 to 3x's your wholesale price. Depends on what type of bid it is homeowner vs commercial.
Old 04-25-2007, 06:13 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

if you don't at least double the cost of plants and add at least 38% - you are a "hobby" and not even near being a real "business".

regards
Are you sure you are charging enough to incl. eqpt.maint./rental/lease/replacement, ins., licens'g, marktg., mat'ls., payroll, legal, permits, postage, customer retention, safety eqpt., taxes, telephony and uniformed work clothes into what you do everyday to last you the next 10 years ?
Ted Nugent: "God, Guns and Rock & Roll"; "The 5 Boxes of Freedom": Soap, Ballot, Witness, Jury, Cartridges Citizens, Jurors, Voters, Volunteers.
Old 04-25-2007, 07:13 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

there is no formula. You should always bid out a job on an individual basis. That said we use 300% wholesale as a check to see if we are high or low.
Old 04-25-2007, 07:44 PM
LawnSite Member

Thank you

We are buying plants at wholesale. Thank you for your feedback.
Old 04-25-2007, 07:53 PM
LawnSite Member

I charge 2-3x the cost.

When planting...what do you all charge per hour
or per plant?

"There are things that go bump in the night. We're the ones who bump back."

(2) 61" Scag "walk" behinds
various line trimmers, edger stick, backpack blowers,
hedge trimmers, wheel blower, chain saw, etc
2001 Ram 1500 Standard (pulls the trailer)
1990 Ramcharger (stump puller)