Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 05-28-2007, 10:31 PM
LawnSite Member

Numbness and tingling in the fiingers and hand

just setting up this tread a get an estimate of how many out there are experiencing symptoms of numbness and tingling in the hand and fingers while operating equipment, i know my upper extremities give me fits. Along side of lawn care i am a sports medicine student in college doing some research on this problem. If you you would like to reply just state were the symptoms occur, what makes them better, what makes them worse or just say you have this problem so i can get a number that will depict how many are affected by the vibrations produced from their equipment. Thanks for your time.
Old 05-28-2007, 10:36 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I used to get it pretty bad the first year. Since, I get it from time to time, but not as bad.
Old 05-30-2007, 05:15 AM
LawnSite Member

Fingers and arms tingle after long periods of weedeating. After 20 min. or so it will stop.
Old 05-30-2007, 07:01 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

pump up on some b-12
Old 05-30-2007, 07:42 AM
LawnSite Member

my hand are mostly numb all of the time. the doc says it is from carpal tunnel (spelling) he claim that holding a weedeater put stress on your wrist and the nerves that travel through and that is the cause of it. During the winter my symptoms go away but within two week of weedeating I have it for the entire summer.
Old 06-05-2007, 11:34 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

do a site search (topmost greenest top-bar, which see) for "whitefinger"
Old 06-06-2007, 06:44 PM
LawnSite Member