Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 06-01-2007, 11:00 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Spreader Advice

i live in southwest florida and have 39,000sq ft of st augstine grass and i have been taking care of it for 10+ years it has always looked good.but things at work have been very busy and other hobbies have cut into my yard time.i have commerical equipment to take care of the lawn i have a toro z master ztr and all stihl weedeaters and blower and stick edger.i also have a lesco ss spreader but pushing that thing thru 39k sq ft of grass is a real pain plus the time it takes to do this and do it right.i am thinking about hiring somebody to do it or for me or buy a ride on spreader/sprayer.question is i was thinking about getting a z-spray jr or do you guys think thats a waste of money for a home onwer to spend to take care of that much yard? i had somebody come out and give me a price on taking care of it bi monthly and the yearly price was like $3000.00 per year that was ferti fugi and pest control...after a few years i could pay for the damn z-spray jr.i called lesco and got what i have spent on avg over the last serval years and it was on avg 400.00-500.00.so i fi bump up the the money i spend at lesco to say 750.00 per year and pay the machine 3000.00 a year i have bought the machine and the product in 3 years...i am not to worried about me breaking the z-spray b/c i am sure it will last me along time hell my toro is 8years old and the only i have done to it is change the oil grease it and put blades on it and 2 batteries so i am pretty sure the z-spray will last that and i will get my money back out of it what do you guys think? waste of money ? i do like working in the yard i don't see it has a chore i like looking back at my yard when i am done just trying to cut donw on the time it takes to do it and be able to do a better job then with just a push type spreader and being able to spray will be great right now i do it with a solo back pack sprayer...tks fo