Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 06-01-2007, 11:41 PM
LawnSite Member

wait time to mow new sod?

Hey guys,

I got a new account today, but the lady just had sod laid about 2 weeks ago and its starting to grow. Its tall enough to mow but i was wondering how long i should wait to actually mow it without causing damage(i will pry mow it the first couple of times with a 21" for the weight issues". I was under the impression to mow it when its not wet, and after it starts growing. Any info on this would help. Thanks!

2001 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad 4x4
4x8 steel trailer
48" Bunton Hydro
36" Better Quick Super duty
21" toro self pace
21" husky beater
Homelite blower
Weedeater Str8 Shaft
Trim n Edge
2 hp briggs w/b edger
Homelite Hedge Trimmer
other crap

"I'd rather have one customer 1000 times, than 1000 customers 1 time!"
Old 06-02-2007, 03:42 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

I'm not a sod expert, so hopefully someone who is can answer your question better.

I have mowed some freshly-sodded properties(newly constructed homes), and have usually waited 2 to 3 weeks after the sod was laid down, to be sure that it was taking root. Otherwise you run the risk of sucking the sod up with the mower. I've always used a 21"er on these as well because the ground is usually very soft from watering.

Originally posted by SLR:
Quote:
you really got off fortunate and lucky 5-0boy1!..imagine if you an her created a little 5boy1,now there's a nicely entangled chaotic toranado vise!
THE VERY BEST SOURCE OF INFO FOR THE GREEN INDUSTRY! ALL YOUR QUESTIONS ANSWERED!
Old 06-02-2007, 06:17 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

2 Weeks is fine.
Old 06-02-2007, 06:46 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Yep. Just give it a few gentle tugs here and there, and that will tell you how well it is rooting. Hopefully, starter fert. was used. This helps tremendously. One trick is to mow high. This reduces the vacuum of the mower(s). You especially have to be careful around the corner edges.