Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 06-23-2007, 11:19 PM
LawnSite Member

Insurance

Hey guys I want your opinion on Insurance...I am sure I am going to get different responses but I want to see what you guys think... Here it is : Since I am just starting out and wanting to do this business the right way would you get insurance for the first year since i am going to be doing this part time at first and dont know how many lawns I will end up? Would you wait till you had some money saved up first then get insurance. Licensing I am going to do right away, but insurance I dont know about yet. How many lawns would you have first before getting insurance?? Thanks Matt

Also are any of you guys also bonded and is it needed
Old 06-23-2007, 11:30 PM
LawnSite Member

I live in western NY and have $1 million in liability for around $700 per year through ERIE Insurance. If you break that down it equals around $13.00 a week (52 weeks obviously). That's less than one lawn a week. You will sleep better at night knowing you have insurance and if you break a window or something unfortunate like that that $700 will seem cheap. I imagine the rates may be a little higher near the city but I couldn't tell you for sure. It's a no brainer to get it in my opinion. Good luck.
Old 06-24-2007, 12:23 PM
LawnSite Member

anyone else???
Old 06-24-2007, 01:48 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

550 per year for a million from the hartford. Well worth having.
Old 06-24-2007, 08:38 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I also use Erie. My policy cost me $527 for $1MM in liability coverage plus coverage for my equipment and truck.
Old 06-24-2007, 09:10 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member