Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 09-21-2007, 09:14 AM
LawnSite Member

How did most of you start out??????

Currently I am working a night job and doing landscape jobs for people I work with, such as a patio I am working on now. I was wondering how most of you got started in the hardscape industry and any advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated. I am looking to start my own business focusing mainly on patios, but also doing other hardscapes as well....
Old 09-21-2007, 09:56 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Hey fellow Marylander. I started out and still am part-time on the weekends. I do 10 good sized jobs a season and am happy with that right now.

Creative Hardscapes
Old 09-21-2007, 10:34 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I've been doing basic grass cutting in my area for 3 years now. I'm now 16 and wanted to move to more involved jobs that have a much higher payout. I've just been learning and growing my skills over this summer. I haven't done any hardscape jobs yet but hopefully I get one before the snow.
Old 09-21-2007, 06:06 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

I started out working with different General contractors through High School. I was taught the basics of many different trades. I then graduated HS and stayed working with the GC and did side jobs on the weekend. The next spring i went full time on my own. Three years later here i am.
Old 09-21-2007, 08:36 PM
LawnSite Member

I started working for another landscaper part time while I was in the army. I bought most of my equipment while I had a secure job. Now retired from the army and lovin both retirement and being the boss for a change.
Old 09-23-2007, 10:31 AM
LawnSite Member

Rusk, you seem like one of the most productive and innovative people on this site. I appreciate anything you have to offer.
Old 09-23-2007, 10:49 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tastroh View Post