Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 09-28-2007, 12:30 AM
LawnSite Member

Is blowout important?

I have not been blowing out my system but I did have a valve go bad for some reason a couple years ago. How important are blowouts in Colorado? Obviously you are shutdown for the winter after the blowout but there are alot of dry spells in the winter I would like to be able to water.

Hope you guys don't mind a post from an amateur. I am a window cleaner by trade and also work at the local grocery store.

Also: Is five hours to find and replace a bad valve way out of line. I hate to complain because I work with the public too and I don't want to be a pain. Here is the case:

I had tried to fix the valves by swapping top myself but could not find the problem, I had one station always on. They saw a valve with a little leak so they tried to fix that and it was not the problem so they dug it out and replace one or two valves, one had a crack in the base. Is 5 hrs at $65 per hour way out of line for two guys for this job. The guy was a little new at the work and they did not have a screw gun to speed things up or any spare screws or diaphrams. I will probably not complain but this does seem a little high doesnt it. They did have to dig down a good foot to get to the valves.
Old 09-28-2007, 06:59 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Can't speak for blowout but if they knew what they were doing 65 for two guys seems really good. It would cost twice that with me and one guy. Of course I like to think my years of experience make it worth every penny.
Old 09-28-2007, 07:03 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

I can dig and replace a valve in less than 1 hr.....if valves are side by side, both can be done in 1 hr.... I charge $100 per 1" valve installed...
Old 09-28-2007, 07:20 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by londonrain View Post
I charge $100 per 1" valve installed...