Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2001, 09:18 AM
odin odin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: PRETTY SOON BETWEEN PALERMO AND AYRSHIRE BUT RIGHT NOW SWEET HOME CHICAGO
Posts: 1,783
rpm reader

I JUST PURCHASED A REDDINGTON HOUR RPM METER THAT WRAPS AROUND THE SPARK PLUG WIRE,ARE THEY ACCURATE ON READING RPMS?iIT SHOWS 3510 UNDER NO LOAD

THANKS
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2001, 09:23 AM
Guido Guido is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: North Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 2,085
3510 RPM's on what piece of equipment....

makes a big difference if its a weedwhacker or a farm tractor!!




And yes, they are fairly accurate, not the best, but you'll get a good ballpark figure.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2001, 09:29 AM
odin odin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: PRETTY SOON BETWEEN PALERMO AND AYRSHIRE BUT RIGHT NOW SWEET HOME CHICAGO
Posts: 1,783
Guido

Its a kaw 19 on exmark lazer hp
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2001, 09:33 AM
Eric ELM Eric ELM is offline
Husband, Father, Friend, Angel
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 4,831
odin00

Please don't post in all upper case. It is considered SCREAMING on the internet.

I would think in the directions or specs, it should say what the accuracy of it is. I do know that the linkage does wear just a fuzz here and there over time and the rpm's do drop a bit in 200 hours. I adjust mine about every 200 to 300 hours or when they drop below 3600 with a load.

I replaced the carb on my old Chopper at 3,600 hours and I had adjusted it so many times that when I put on the new carb, before adjusting the linkage, the rpm's were 3800 at 3/4 throttle. I had to move the cable quite a ways to get it to where it needed to be. The reason I replaced it is the butterfly shaft had so much slop, it was sucking air and it would not idle unless I pulled out the choke a fuzz.

If you never adjust the linkage, I would guess by the time you put on 3600 hours, it would be running at about 2500 rpm's. This is why something like what you purchased is so important, so you keep the rpm's up for better cutting.

Check your owners manual to see what your rpms should be set at.
__________________
<img src="http://www.elmlawnsite.com/images/bannerpic.jpg" border="0" alt="ELMLawnsite">
^One of the lawns we mow
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2001, 09:38 AM
odin odin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: PRETTY SOON BETWEEN PALERMO AND AYRSHIRE BUT RIGHT NOW SWEET HOME CHICAGO
Posts: 1,783
Sorry about upper case it did not know my caps lock was on
i didnt have the old glasses on .getting old i guess
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2001, 09:44 AM
Eric ELM Eric ELM is offline
Husband, Father, Friend, Angel
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 4,831
No problem, I see your almost as old as me.

I had to get special glasses for the computer.

Did you get any specs with your hour/rpm meter? Mine came standard, so I can't help you out with what mine is.

I did take one off of one machine and put on the other and they both showed the same rpm's with in 10, so if they are off, they are off about the same.
__________________
<img src="http://www.elmlawnsite.com/images/bannerpic.jpg" border="0" alt="ELMLawnsite">
^One of the lawns we mow
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-2001, 09:54 AM
odin odin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: PRETTY SOON BETWEEN PALERMO AND AYRSHIRE BUT RIGHT NOW SWEET HOME CHICAGO
Posts: 1,783
Eric

They just gave me mounting instructions and said not to mount it where it would not get to hot .I khink kaw says 3600 on there engines,so i think ill push it up maybe to 3700 under no load

Thanks a lot

thanks for understanding about the upper case post
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2001, 11:08 AM
mowingmachine mowingmachine is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Mendota, IL
Posts: 252
I'm familier with the Tiny Tac which is basically the same device. I have checked it with a digital rpm gauge and it seems to fairly accurate. The Tiny Tac recommends 4 wraps on the spark plug wire. If you don't get this right your accuracy will be off. Yours may be different though. Hope this helps.

mowingmachine
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2001, 05:31 PM
Ssouth Ssouth is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 437
Where can I find a tach like you a referring to? I think one of my machines is a little low and another set way to high. Can they be purchased at a local auto store and if so how much do they cost?

Thank you in advance for any info.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2001, 05:50 PM
HBFOXJr HBFOXJr is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,700
SenDEC
__________________
Harold
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:33 AM.

Page generated in 0.10063 seconds with 7 queries