Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 10-14-2007, 09:32 PM
LawnSite Member

bidding landscape jobs

started bidding commercial work. find that I am usually low bidder. So I started adding up all my job costs: plants, dirt, labor, mulch, insurance, truck , trailer, loader, edt. Once I have my cost I multiply by 2, sometimes this is my bid and sometimes I add a profit margin. what do you suggest for competative bidding?
thanks, jeff
Old 10-15-2007, 10:39 PM
LawnSite Member

I am just getting started in the business but are using the same rates as you. Based on what I am reading we are way low. I just did a job with about $600 in materials and quoted $1188.00. The lady gave me $1300.00 and is talking about an irrigation system and more beds. It took about 16 hours and I am a one man show. With every job I am going up on price based on experience and realizing I am under estimating time.
Dean
Old 10-15-2007, 11:39 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTLC View Post
I am just getting started in the business but are using the same rates as you. Based on what I am reading we are way low. I just did a job with about $600 in materials and quoted $1188.00. The lady gave me $1300.00 and is talking about an irrigation system and more beds. It took about 16 hours and I am a one man show. With every job I am going up on price based on experience and realizing I am under estimating time.
Dean
I just did some figuring, and your only charging around 40/hr. If I were you, I would raise my hourly rate to 60-70/hr or so. I'm new to this also, but that would definitely help you out a bunch.
2001 Ford F-350 4x4 SD XLT 7.3PSD
6X16' Tandem axle trailer
5X8 BIG MAX trailer
Exmark Vantage 24/52
Bobcat Predator Pro 61" 26LC
Simplicity Legacy 60" Vanguard Diesel
Redmax EB7001, 7150, 7500
Stihl BG55, SH85
Echo SRM-210, SRM-225 (3), Dolmar 22C
(2) Echo PAS-265
Old 10-15-2007, 11:48 PM
LawnSite Member

loom-gen