Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 10-18-2007, 09:31 AM
LawnSite Member

What would you charge to light this Tree?

I have a client who would like to light a tree that is approx. 35ft high and 15ft wide at the base, what would you charge for this tree? If possible, how did you arrive at your number.

I am new to this Holiday lighting and am trying to figure the best way to charge. We thought about renting the lights to our customers, but I see many people saying they charge a material cost, therefore the customer is purchasing the lights. Any advice would be helpful.
Old 10-18-2007, 06:01 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

Lighting any tree higher than 25 feet is very difficult. we use a painters pole that expands to 20 feet, and even with a 6 foot guy on a step ladder and pole it is difficult to put lights on the upper part of a 25 foot plus tree. most folks won't pay for a boom or bucket truck rental, so they would have to be happy without lights on the top.

wrapping the trunk and filling that tree with mini lights would take about 2500-3500 mini lights, so I woul dbe in the neighborhood of 550-800 dollars. that fee would drop slightly in year 2, but only by 100-150 dollars or so. It would take a man with a helper 1/2 day to do that project. frustrating work, hard on the shoulders and not the most profitable christmas light job for two guys for a half a day.

Christmas Decor specializes in trees, and they would charge about 1100 for the same tree and would wrap dozens of the branches, two guys for a full day. we do up and down all around method.
Old 10-18-2007, 06:49 PM
LawnSite Silver Member