Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 07-18-2000, 07:25 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

I got a call from an older customer of mine with a complaint. He said my mower is tearing up his lawn in 3 places. Naturally concerned I called him back. We talked over the phone for a few minutes and as our schedules conflicted so he told me to look at the damage when I mow on Tuesday.<p>I have been mowing here for 5 years. The lawn is quite shaded and thin in spots from pine trees and shade. The customer only wants a spring and fall fertilization and the lawn is in fair shape. There are two tire track marks where there is natural drainage downhill. These have been here for 5 years. Today when I mowed he wasn't home but I could find nothing new that I recently did. <br>He stated that he wanted it resodded when I talked to him over the phone. I stated that I will look at it and use a push mower to do those spots. <br>I went from using a rider and mowing in 30 minutes to riding and using a 21&quot; walkbehind resulting in 1 hour total time.<p>This is for the same $30.00. What would you do?<br>Drop him?<br>Finish the season after fixing the tracks?<br>Raise the price of mowing immediately?<br>He has been alright as a customer except for a complaint here and there but I don't understand what this is about..<p>What would you do?
Old 07-18-2000, 07:45 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I have had customers want me to raise my mowing height and some want me to lower my mowing height. I have my height set at 3 1/2 inches and that is where I leave it. I have been told this is the best overall setting. I had to let a customer go that wanted a very low cut. I tried to explain that this is not good for the lawn, and that I can't lower my blades just for them and then raise them for the next customer. They then wanted me to use my 21&quot; mower on a LOW setting for the same price. I politely said no. I hate to lose any customer, but you have got to be realistic. I hopes this helps.