Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 12-08-2007, 02:06 AM
LawnSite Member

Getting 50+ accounts by next season

I am starting out a lawncare business next season. I wanted to know if it is possible to get 50+ customers in the next 4 months and the best ways to go about doing it? I only have 5 accounts right now, but I wanted to know if it is realistic to gain that many customers. I know it all depends on how much I advertise, but what are the best ways to gain a lot of customers in a short period of time? I know its going to be hard but I am willing to put all my effort into doing this and any help would be great. Thanks

Ryan
Old 12-08-2007, 09:48 AM
LawnSite Member

I am not an expert, new to the business as well. I would make sure that the 5 that I am servicing look fantastic. I would offer referral discounts to existing customers. I would give fliers out letting the neighbors know that you service Mr & Mrs ____ property and that you are detail oriented, etc. If the lawn is the best on the block, they will call. When you meet new people tell them what you do and give a business card out. If they don't need your service maybe a friend does. When I service my properties I wave to neighbors and say hello to evryone who passes by. Shows that I am approachable. Your right, your goal of 50 is difficult, but it is obtainable. Good luck to you.
Old 12-08-2007, 11:03 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

That is NOT unrealistic at all.

My 1st year I had 42, there were NOT all weekly, And some were one time only,
BUT what will happen is, while working solo " I assume your solo" you will start getting calls and spending a lot of time doing bids and meeting Customers. this will take you away from Working " cutting grass "

Really to get a weekly Customer you need to spend at least 1 hour with them. Walking there proptery and getting on the same page... Now this is NOT true for every customer or situwation. But It's a GREAT model to go by.