Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2001, 04:24 PM
Bunton Guy's Avatar
Bunton Guy Bunton Guy is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: charlotte nc
Posts: 1,611
Engine HP required for running Doubles

I was wondering what kind of engine you have to be running for doubles. I was wanting to put them on the 36" Gravely with a 12hp Kohler. Do you need a special settup or holster for the 2 blades ? My mower has that coupler type thing that is a plate that holds the blade to the spindle. Will the doubles bog down the motor. Will it require more greasing (dosent gravely have sealed bearings in the spindles ? ) Can you do doubles on a 21" walk behind ? is there limits ? What is best combo for sucking the grass up and chopping. The problem I have is the mower cant suck the grass up straight enough to give it that good even cut across it leaves to many straggler peices of grass.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2001, 06:58 PM
Richard Martin's Avatar
Richard Martin Richard Martin is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 14,466
I really hope you just got this mower! In my opinion the 12 is just not quite enough to spin doubles. I had a 12.5 Kaw on my Exmark 36 and then I replaced it with a 14 Kaw and it just seems to be much happier with the additional hp.

Your mower has what they call a saddle to hold the blades. You should pull the saddle off (it's held in place with allen screws) and replace it with a Gravely flat saddle. They do make it, I don't have the part number but they do make it.

You should use a high temperature grease in the spindles if they are getting hot.

Your Gravely should be cutting grass great. The 36" is a good mower. Have you sharpened the blades recently?
__________________
Serving Greenville, Winterville and Ayden NC


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2001, 09:48 PM
Eng Mwr Guy Eng Mwr Guy is offline
Gravely Manufacturer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 249
In my opinion, a 12.5 motor is a little light for doubles.

Depending on the age of the mower you should have maintenance free spindles i.e. no greasing required.

Why not triples? (my smart a** answer to Is there a limit?)

Listen to Richard M. He used to have a Gravely and knows what he is doing. Or go to a Gravely dealer to get some help.

Let me know if I can help.

Barry
Gravely Guy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2001, 09:51 PM
Bunton Guy's Avatar
Bunton Guy Bunton Guy is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: charlotte nc
Posts: 1,611
I just bought it recently. It has a rebuilt motor and new carb. The blades are farely sharp they will be sharpened before I use it on anyones yard. The 12 hp is enough for what I am using it for I wont change out motors till it really needs it. If I cant run doubles then I wont.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2001, 10:01 PM
dlandscaping dlandscaping is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: mass
Posts: 836
12.5 with doubles

i have doubles on my toro 36 fixed and it has a 12.5 kaw engine, boy it does a number on them leaves and leaves a nice stripe. it sounds like plane is taking off when you turn those blades on!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2001, 10:08 PM
Eric ELM Eric ELM is offline
Husband, Father, Friend, Angel
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 4,831
I don't know if this will help or not, but I ran doubles on 2 different 20 HP Magnum Kohlers on 60" Choppers. That is just 8 more Horse Power but 24 more inches of cut.

12/20 in HP would be 3/5
36/60 in cut would be 3/5

According to that, you should have at least as much power as what I had for your cutting width.
__________________
<img src="http://www.elmlawnsite.com/images/bannerpic.jpg" border="0" alt="ELMLawnsite">
^One of the lawns we mow
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-2001, 12:38 AM
Flex-Deck Flex-Deck is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Mediapolis, IA. 52637
Posts: 2,846
I have a JD 455 with a 78" 4 spindle deck and am running gators on top and dixie choppers on bottom (8 blades total) and am running 10 mph and mowing neat with a 22 HP yanmar diesel.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-16-2001, 02:31 AM
vipermanz's Avatar
vipermanz vipermanz is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 1,780
i run them on a 6.5 hp mower with no probs
__________________
<img src="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v404/vipermanz/Newbanner.jpg" alt="Image hosted by Photobucket.com">
Check Out Weldingweb !!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-16-2001, 03:23 AM
David Haggerty David Haggerty is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: sw Ohio, Wilmington (the wettest place in the state)
Posts: 2,382
I put doubles on my 36" Byers Gold and it really improved the quality of cut. It improved the amount of lift tremendously.
Stock blades on the bottom and Gators on the top. It does add a noticible load on the motor, but I have a 14 hp Kohler, belt drive and no sulkey, so I still have plenty of power.
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-16-2001, 09:45 AM
Charles's Avatar
Charles Charles is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 7,001
NOw I dont know if this caused it. But I ran doubles off and on using a 23 hp pro and the pto belt wore out within 300 hrs. This belt was not cheap and not cheap to have put on and there was no telling how long it was effecting the cut with the slipping the belt was doing before it finally shredded. I could see where doubles would cause more wear on the belts in a short time though
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 PM.

Page generated in 0.10163 seconds with 7 queries