Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 12-25-2007, 11:45 AM
LawnSite Member

Can you apply fertilizer without a license?

I am just starting out and want to offer Scotts four step program to my customers. Can I apply this to residential customers lawns without any special license? Also I am considering the Better Quick 36 and also using the LawnBoy Commercial 6.5 that I already use...any Comments? Thoughts? Thanks again for such an awesome site!!!

Mike
Michigan
Old 12-25-2007, 11:53 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

No, and doesn't Scott's Miracle Grow Inc. already offer this service?

I mean you can certainly use Scott's once or twice here and there, it's a good product, but I wouldn't be for trying to sell their in-store products as a service that they just as likely provide themselves through their own lawn maintenance division, is what I'm saying.

My recommendation is to first check with your state's laws, I don't think any of them allow you to spread fertilizer without a chemical applicator's license but you might as well check because it's worth it (trust me, even if the answer is no it is still worth checking into).

Then I would start looking for a local landscape supplier whose products you can use, that is not being sold by a big name or some nationwide home garden maintenance corporation. Their prices ought to be more competitive for one, two you're not driving around with a product everyone recognizes (no offense and it may sound stupid but it's not), and last but not least hopefully with this method you can carve yourself out a niche service, is what I was getting at.

In the meantime, to use Scott's a few times to see if it's something you want to do long term, I think that would be ok.

Last edited by topsites; 12-25-2007 at 12:01 PM.
Old 12-25-2007, 12:15 PM
LawnSite Member

i'd say you hit the nail on the head with that response...do what he said

No Bunk
Old 12-25-2007, 05:23 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member