Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 01-08-2008, 12:15 AM
LawnSite Member

Tow behind aerator

Alright I'm new to the biz, so I ask a silly question. I have a tow behind aerator non powered; the kind from Lowes. Is it acceptable to use this when aerating for customers? I am sure it does not work as well as a powered aerator, but it does pull plugs if the ground is not hard. If the ground is hard forget about it.
Old 01-08-2008, 12:45 AM
LawnSite Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallkracker View Post
Alright I'm new to the biz, so I ask a silly question. I have a tow behind aerator non powered; the kind from Lowes. Is it acceptable to use this when aerating for customers? I am sure it does not work as well as a powered aerator, but it does pull plugs if the ground is not hard. If the ground is hard forget about it.
The only things a pull behind aerator from Lowes would be good for would be aerating your OWN yard once or twice a year, and serving as an ANCHOR for your boat this coming summer!!!

But seriously now...

Would you expect a 'pot metal' box store pull behind aerator's going to last any length of time?

I'd look for a used Lesco 48" or 60".
They're very heavy and rugged.
Old 01-08-2008, 07:48 AM
LawnSite Gold Member

What Ive learned from using a home owner aerator.....they dont pull enough plugs per square foot for efficient plugging. I cant remember how many plugs is desired for proper aeration. A commercial pull behind has more tines and maybe longer ones also. So yours may be good to start with but plan to upgrade to a commercial version soon

wayne

Old 01-08-2008, 05:00 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallkracker View Post
it will be fine

you may or may not need a commercial aerator, depends on your customers/sales.....will the customer be willing to pay for aeration service?

i would use what you got, go from there
Old 01-10-2008, 09:39 PM
LawnSite Member