Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 10-29-2001, 08:11 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Customers that don't pay

I have been in the business for about 10 years now. In the past I had only done residential work, but this year I was a sub contractor mowing in a condo developement. I got paid weekly the from the guy throughout the summer, then weeks went by before I got paid again but I always got paid untill now. I am owed a little over $2000 now and everytime I call the guy he is really nice and gives me the "check is in the mail" routine, but it never is. The last thing I want to do is go to small claims court but then again I need this check. Do any of you have a tactic or letter that you send out to employees that don't pay that threaten them with a law suit? Does it work?

Thanks for your help.
Old 10-30-2001, 08:45 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

You need a letter written in a FORM style, not a personalized letter stating that outstanding balances beyond 60 days will be sent to a collection agency or small claims court. This is business. Maybe they are behind on their bills and cannot afford to send it to you, but when they are allowed to do that, YOU find yourself in the same situation with your bills.
Old 10-30-2001, 09:00 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

certified mail sometimes gets attention
Old 10-30-2001, 09:12 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Hey Scott,