Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 01-31-2008, 11:50 AM
LawnSite Member

need help and guidance from experienced

i am new to fertilizing and spraying but i have some general knowledge. i would like to put a spring, summer, fall fertilizing and weed control program together for some of my clients but i honestly dont know where to start. i have been reading for a little while on here but most of the time its over my head and too in depth. i would like to do a 4-5 application program throughout the year-april to october. i would actually really like to talk to someone over the phone about it and ask questions. now i dont need to know all your secrets or anything just looking for a basic outline-someplace to start. any help would be greatly appreciated my cell phone is 715-205-2739 if someone has some spare time to answer a few questions. thanks
Old 01-31-2008, 12:32 PM
LawnSite Member

A 4 step program you are looking at an app about every 8 weeks or so. A 5 step about every 6-7 weeks depending on when you start. It's rough to do only a 4 step. The 8 weeks between apps is a long time for bad things to happen. Plus you make more money with the additional app.

Since you are thinking 4 or 5 apps, I would start off with pre-emergent + fert on rd 1. Maybe a 2nd app of the same thing rd 2, depending on the type and strength of the pre-emergent. You could also do a straight fert with some slow release on rd 2 if you use a high rate of barricade or dimension. Either merit + fert or a slow release summer fert for rd 3. Slow release fert for rd 4. Then a fall fert for rd 5. I would spray for weeds as needed throughout the season. It will be cheaper than using a weed & feed product.

That's kind of a basic idea. A lot depends on when you start, what pre-emergent you use, grub control if any, and how many apps. I do a 6 step program starting about April 1 ending about Nov 1. Roughly 5-6 weeks between apps.
Old 01-31-2008, 12:52 PM
LawnSite Member