Register free!

Old 02-04-2008, 01:41 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

College advice?

Hey guys I will be graduating highschool in 2009(next year) and was wondering wat all classes would you recommend for landscaping? I am new to all this landscaping but not to lawncare. I have talked to my counselors at my school and they say i should go into landscape design for sure. I guess wat i am asking is wat all do you recommend me taking? I just want to make sure i know wat i am doing when i start? Also for you vets...is there anything that you wish you would have done or known and tell me that way it might make it easier? THanks for helping a rookie out, your time and answers will be much appreciated!
Old 02-04-2008, 07:31 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Take classes in horticulture, botany, soil science, chemistry, buisness, biology, art/ design, computer science, surveying, plant identification, etc. Talk to counselors in the school (s) you plan on going to. Find a good agricultrual college in your area. Go to Cornell or University of Delaware or Georgia. Get those schools to send you info on all their programs. Go to college- it's a blast and even educational!
Old 02-04-2008, 10:06 AM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by FinerCutslawnCare View Post
Hey guys I will be graduating highschool in 2009(next year) and was wondering wat all classes would you recommend for landscaping? I am new to all this landscaping but not to lawncare. I have talked to my counselors at my school and they say i should go into landscape design for sure. I guess wat i am asking is wat all do you recommend me taking? I just want to make sure i know wat i am doing when i start? Also for you vets...is there anything that you wish you would have done or known and tell me that way it might make it easier? THanks for helping a rookie out, your time and answers will be much appreciated!