Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-12-2000, 09:56 AM
LawnSite Member

I want to start a lawn care. Cut, trim, blow, leaves, areate, thatch, etc., no landscaping. I have no experience but feel this business is the perfect match for me.<br>My family would not be dependent on this venture but I still need to keep cost as low as possible. All I have is a new truck (making payments) and not even a hitch on that. I MAY be able to get a loan up to 20k. but right now don't have cash enough to buy one of Nillsons' books. Used equipment around here is hard to find so here are my thoughts on new after following this fourm and others simmular to it...<br>Grasshopper 725 w/52&quot; conv. deck, snowthrower,cab,collector,__$13800.<br>7'x 12' trailer (used)______$ 800.<br>used 48&quot; gravely walk behind w/ 40 hrs. on it____________$ 1500.<br>used Honda 21&quot; wb, shindiawa <br>trim/edger,bp blower aprox._$ 700. <br>Misc. tools/blades,pressure<br>washer, etc.________________$ 2000.<p>That leaves $1200 for insurance and not much for advertising or office equipment if any not to mention legal/accounting. <br>I live in the mid-west and need the winter work but I don't think I could make enough my first season to purchase the snow equipment. <br>I know many of you are thinking I'm totaly off my nut, and others will say if you can afford it go for it. I plan to get into the business regardless if I can get 5k or 20k, take some classes, read evrything I can, listen to you all for I may not have alot of money but I do have alot of time at the young age of 50.<br>My question is... Can I grow into my equipment this way or should I rethink and take another approach? <br>Sorry for the long post, but you need info<br>before you take a shot. Thanks everyone.
Old 02-12-2000, 10:12 AM