Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2008, 05:23 AM
nherweck's Avatar
nherweck nherweck is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 320
Moving a mower from KY to CA

How would I get a Craftsman 33" mower from KY to CA? I may be moving in the fall time, so I need to see how I can ship my 33" Craftsman mower from KY to CA.

I'm probably going to sell my truck when I move, so all I have is a 2005 Scion xB that i don't exactly want to put a lawn mower into.

Thanks!
__________________
Nick
Five Guys and a Lawnmower
Website - In Progress
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2008, 05:34 AM
Richard Martin's Avatar
Richard Martin Richard Martin is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 14,501
Break the handle bars down, drain all of the fluids and crate it up. It could cost several hundreds dollars at least to ship it. They aren't expensive mowers to begin with. Why don't you sell the one you have and buy a new one in Cali?
__________________
Serving Greenville, Winterville and Ayden NC



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2008, 09:57 AM
lawnwizards's Avatar
lawnwizards lawnwizards is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: catlettsburg, kentucky
Posts: 2,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Martin View Post
Break the handle bars down, drain all of the fluids and crate it up. It could cost several hundreds dollars at least to ship it. They aren't expensive mowers to begin with. Why don't you sell the one you have and buy a new one in Cali?
another thing to add, it might be illegal to use that mower in california with the strict emission standards they have. you might want to check into that before you try to ship it.
__________________
LawnWizards
For your lawn care needs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2008, 10:24 AM
gandk06 gandk06 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 507
I have often wondered if equipment can be brought in from other states that don't meet the california emisions. OR, is that you can not sell equipment (from a retailer) that does not meet California specs?

I don't see how they could enforce their emisions policy in a state like California. Do the police stop everyone that is cutting grass and ask to see their papers?
__________________
scag cheetah 61"
ferris hydrowalk sd 36"
echo blowers/trimmers/hedge
6.5x12 big tex
honda ridgeline
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2008, 10:26 AM
gandk06 gandk06 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 507
Forgot to respond to the original question asked. I would just sell the mower and buy a new one in California. I think you would end up coming out ahead by the time you have to pay to have your mower shipped.
__________________
scag cheetah 61"
ferris hydrowalk sd 36"
echo blowers/trimmers/hedge
6.5x12 big tex
honda ridgeline
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-27-2008, 04:25 AM
nherweck's Avatar
nherweck nherweck is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 320
Actually, I am going to go with what all of you have said: SELL IT. My mom wanted a new mower, and I only paid $240 for it and it looks BRAND NEW, so she's buying it from me for $300 to cover the cost/time for me to pick up in Indianapolis.

It'll save me plenty of money trying to get it shipped.

Thanks!
__________________
Nick
Five Guys and a Lawnmower
Website - In Progress
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-27-2008, 08:41 AM
gandk06 gandk06 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 507
good idea!
__________________
scag cheetah 61"
ferris hydrowalk sd 36"
echo blowers/trimmers/hedge
6.5x12 big tex
honda ridgeline
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-27-2008, 09:42 AM
jasonnau's Avatar
jasonnau jasonnau is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by nherweck View Post
How would I get a Craftsman 33" mower from KY to CA? I may be moving in the fall time, so I need to see how I can ship my 33" Craftsman mower from KY to CA.

I'm probably going to sell my truck when I move, so all I have is a 2005 Scion xB that i don't exactly want to put a lawn mower into.

Thanks!
Nick, I still have some work for you here in Burlington. Sell that dang thing on craig's list and get something better in California. It's not worth the hassle.
This is a message from your old boss Jason.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2008, 09:43 AM
jasonnau's Avatar
jasonnau jasonnau is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 454
OH yeah, What else do you have to sell?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-27-2008, 11:56 PM
nherweck's Avatar
nherweck nherweck is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 320
Hah, hey there Jason! I didn't realize you were on LS ever. Nice to talk to you again--what type of trailer were you titling at the DMV?

Umm...right now I have absolutely nothing to sell. Most of my stuff will be left behind with mom, and anything that fits in the xB will go with me to Cali. I will be taking the new SRM230 with me as well as the BG85 Blower.

Oh yeah, I'm sending you a PM in a few seconds.
__________________
Nick
Five Guys and a Lawnmower
Website - In Progress
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:01 AM.

Page generated in 0.09404 seconds with 7 queries