Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 11-22-2001, 12:43 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Big Time vs Scrubs

I was just recently at a bar and who did I happen to run into. Now I am relatively new to this business (22yrs old) and found myself and two other companies in the same bar. One we will call Ed, lowballs people, and Bill runs a top notch operation with all the toys. I just found that Ed charges $25 per man hour (I asked privately) and Bill charges $55 per man hour (I asked privately). Can you guess who has the more successfull operation? Quite a large difference in price, especially since each company has been around for as long as the other one.
Old 11-22-2001, 09:17 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Can you also guess which one will be out of business when his equipment fails. At $25 hour, your not making it, with two guys making $400 per 8 hour day and one your paying around $100-125 at minimum then your overhead expenses and the rest will leave you with around $150 probably less is not enough to replace equipment as it waers out, let alone grow, he must have an outside source or at lease I would hope he at least likes his sooooo much to make no money at it.
Old 11-22-2001, 11:09 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

it really does not matter what one's hourly rate is when compared to others ..... what matters is one's cost in relation to what the market's cost of living is & what that market price will bare

once we know what it cost fore us to be in bussiness n Stay there (reasonable profit) ....then what we charge per hour is right in front of us

the guy charging 55 may have more expensese to cover ....may offer better pay ....have better equip .....paid vacation ....401k plan

the guy at 25 may have more income ....work like a dog ..... have no business to sell ....time to one's self .....a LIFE outside of work .........n like what brent said .... "be out of business when his equipment fails" ....

" Think I'll Come Back Here ....... From